You are here


The Waterloo Engineering Competition consists of six categories:

  • Junior Design
  • Senior Design
  • Consulting
  • SFF Debates
  • SFF Technical Speaking
  • Innovative Design (*Note: this competition is only held during the winter terms)

The Technical Speaking and Debates categories have been SFF- (Sandford Fleming Foundation) run activities for many years. Not only does the SFF sponsor the competitions, it is in the foundation’s mandate to provide quality educational activities outside of the classroom. To honour this dedication, these two WEC categories will remain identified as SFF.

Differences Between WEC and OEC

The rules and regulations of the WEC have been slightly modified to fit into the schedule and allocated budget. The WEC committee has outlined the differences between the formats of the WEC and the OEC in each of the specific competition pages in order to assist WEC winners who go on to the OEC.